Murder and Manslaughter
Attorney For Murder and Manslaughter
IF YOU HAVE BEEN CHARGED WITH MURDER OR MANSLAUGHTER
TEXT ME TO GET HELP NOW!
In New Jersey, a murder is defined as purposefully causing the death of someone or purposefully causing injury that results in death. Murder is a first degree charge that carries the strictest penalties possible, including life imprisonment. A murder conviction has a mandatory minimum sentence of thirty years, with a maximum penalty of a life sentence. The punishment is typically more severe in the case of aggravating circumstances.
A murder conviction requires proving that there was an intention to kill or cause serious injury that results in death. If there was no intention to kill someone and the death was the result of other factors, you cannot be found guilty of murder. Your charges can be dismissed if you were acting in self-defense or if you acted because you were provoked.
If your actions result in the death of someone, but the death was not your intention, you may be charged with manslaughter. Involuntary manslaughter is sometimes called “imperfect self-defense” as you may have been threatened and defended yourself against an unreasonable fear.
Voluntary manslaughter, meanwhile, is usually referred to as a “crime of passion,” as you may have intended in that moment to kill someone or cause serious bodily injury, but the death was not planned or premeditated. Voluntary manslaughter is a lesser murder charge that requires proving two things:
- There was provocation. Your attorney will need to show that there were circumstances that would lead a reasonable person to becoming disturbed. An example is finding a husband or wife in bed with someone else.
- There was no time to cool off. The second condition that must be met for voluntary manslaughter is that there was no time for you to calm down, such as leaving and coming back the next day to kill someone.
Vehicular homicide, or vehicular manslaughter, is charged if someone kills another person due to poor driving, error or inattention while driving. There are many situations that can lead to a vehicular homicide charge in New Jersey, including getting behind the wheel while sleepy, falling asleep, and causing an accident that results in a death.
Vehicular manslaughter is typically a second degree crime with a potential penalty of 5-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000. This crime may also result in a civil lawsuit brought by the victim’s family.
Contact an Experienced Defense Attorney Today!
Any homicide charge including manslaughter, murder, and vehicular homicide, are among the most serious offenses in New Jersey. If you have been charged with homicide, protect your rights and defend yourself by hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Call defense attorney, Mark Bernstein today!