Driving Without Insurance
In New Jersey, Driving Without Insurance (or an Uninsured Motorist violation) is a very serious traffic offense with stiff penalties. The good news is first-time offenders may have a reduced or eliminated license suspension period if they can show proof of valid coverage at the time of the hearing, at the judge’s discretion, under a revised statute. The Law Office of Mark A. Bernstein will help you protect your rights and present a valid defense against your charge.
If You Have Been Charged With Driving Without Insurance
Text Me To Get Help Now!
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
New Jersey law requires drivers have at least the minimum amount of liability insurance coverage:
- $15,000 for death and injuries to any one victim.
- $30,000 for the injury or death of more than one person.
- $5,000 for property damage.
Driving Without Insurance is one of the strictest traffic laws in New Jersey with penalties that are greater than those for a DWI charge
For a first-time offense, you face a fee of $300 to $1,000, mandatory license suspension for one year, surcharges of $250 paid to the DMV for up to three years, and community service hours. You will also be responsible for court fees and costs.
A second offense has a fine of up to $5,000, a mandatory jail sentence of 2 weeks, 30 days of community service, and a license suspension for two years. If you are a second time offender, your license will not be automatically reinstated, as you must petition the DMV. You may potentially have your driving privileges revoked permanently for subsequent convictions.
Defense for Driving Without Insurance
The Law Office of Mark A. Bernstein employs many defenses to attempt to prevent you from being convicted. There are many possible defenses that may prove your vehicle was not registered, or that you were unaware your vehicle was not insured and you were not warned by your insurance provider. Other defenses that may be used include a mix-up in coverage that resulted in a lapse, a mistake on the part of the insurance company, or a policy that was cancelled or not renewed without following the requirements under the law.
Insurance companies must follow strict requirements to cancel an insurance policy. A policy may only be cancelled only for nonpayment, fraud, or suspension/revocation, and the insurer must notify the insured within a specific amount of time. Insurers do have the option to decline to renew coverage if the insured does not meet the company’s criteria, but this requires a written non-renewal notice sent at least 60 days prior to the expiration date.
Contact A Traffic Defense Lawyer Today!
If you have been charged with Driving Without Insurance, it is very important to contact an experienced traffic defense lawyer to handle your case, as Driving Without Insurance charges can cause you to lose your driving privileges and even your freedom. Contact the Law Office of Mark A. Bernstein for a free consultation to see if we can help you keep your driver’s license and avoid jail time.
Contact an experienced traffic defense attorney today!