If You Have Been Charged With Indictable Offenses
Text Me To Get Help Now!
The following are the most common indictable charges in New Jersey.
- First degree crimes include rape, murder, and manslaughter
- Second degree crimes include aggravated arson, burglary, sex crimes, drug crimes, white collar crimes, and kidnapping.
- Third degree crimes include arson, some types of robbery, possession of a controlled substance, and some DUI crimes
- Fourth degree crimes including stalking, forgery, some DUI crimes, and some robbery charges.
A conviction for any indictable crime in New Jersey will become a part of your permanent record. If you are later convicted of another indictable crime (felony), your prior conviction can be considered for even higher penalties. This record can have long-lasting consequences and impact you when you are trying to rent a home or find a job. As a convicted felon, you will also lose your right to carry a firearm, vote, and obtain some professional licenses.
If you are facing a charge for an indictable offense, an experienced defense attorney can help you protect your rights and fight to have your charges dismissed, explore your plea options, and represent you at trial. Contact Mark A. Bernstein today at (609) 299-1647 for a free consultation to discuss your case.
CONTACT An Indictable DEFENSE LAWYER TODAY!
The penalty for an indictable offense depends on the charge and the degree. First degree crimes may have a prison sentence of 10-20 years or between 20 years and life for some crimes like murder. The fine for this charge may be as high as $200,000. A second degree crime may have a prison sentence of 5-10 years and a fine of up to $150,000. A third degree indictable offense carries a prison sentence of 3-5 years and a fine of up to $15,000. A fourth degree charge carries a sentence of 12-18 months and a fine of up to $10,000.
Charged With An Indictable Offense? Contact A Top Defense Attorney Today!